Department Name Changes to Family Medicine and Community Health

Friday, March 1, 2019
New department name

Effective March 1, 2019, the name of the Department of Community and Family Medicine has changed to Department of Family Medicine and Community Health. The Duke University Health System Board of Directors approved the change in January.

"We are committed to advancing the health of the people we serve," says Anthony Viera, M.D., MPH, professor and chair. "And we know that improving health relies on much more than medicine alone. That is why we have changed our department name from Community and Family Medicine to Family Medicine and Community Health."

Viera notes the change also aligns with the same vision that led to the name change from Duke Medicine to Duke Health several years ago.

The department is composed of five divisions — Community Health, Family Medicine, Physician Assistant, Occupational and Environmental Medicine, and Student Health — and is home to the top-ranked Duke Physician Assistant Program and residencies in Family Medicine and Occupational Medicine.