Class of 2021 Family Medicine Residents Honored at Virtual Graduation

On June 18, 2021, the Duke Family Medicine Residency Program celebrated its 2021 family medicine graduates. The graduating residents and their next next steps are as follows:

  • Roosevelt Campbell, MD, PhD: TBD
  • Clayton Cooper, MD, MPH: Geisinger Lewiston, outpatient clinic in rural Pennsylvania
  • Ashley Dougherty, MD: Duke Primary Care Mebane
  • Matthew Geisz, MD: Duke Primary Care Holly Springs
  • Katherine Lee, MD, MSPH: Women's health fellowship with Duke Family Medicine
  • Linh Nguyen, MD: Duke Primary Care Apex
  • Karen Scherr, MD, PhD: National Clinician Scholar and fourth year of residency focused on research and scholarship

Class Year Awards

Thomas Matheson, M.D., Award

PGY1 of the Year Award

Deema Elchoufi, MD

Woody Warburton, M.D., Award

PGY2 of the Year Award

Joe Colosimo, MD

William 'Terry' Kane Award

PGY3 of the Year Award

Clayton Cooper, MD, MBA

E. Harvey Estes, M.D., Resident Excellence Award

Clayton Cooper, MD, MBA

Scholarship, Advocacy, and Teaching Awards

Resident Teaching Award

Katherine Lee, MD, MSPH

Resident Outreach Award

Roosevelt Campbell, MD

Resident Scholarship Award

Karen Scherr, MD, PhD

Additional Awards

Dr. Joyce Copeland “Golden Apple” Teaching Awards

Faculty: Kenny Herring, MD
Community: Ashley Lawson, CNM, midwife at Duke Regional Hospital

Pre-Doctoral Teaching Awards

Faculty: Kenny Herring, MD
Residents: Clay Cooper, MD, MBA and Karen Scherr, MD, PhD

Chief Resident Recognition

Clayton Cooper, MD, MBA and Karen Scherr, MD, PhD