Residency News

Viviana Martinez-Bianchi Named North Carolina Family Physician of the Year

Dr. Viviana Martinez-Bianchi, associate professor in Duke’s Department of Family Medicine and Community Health, has been named North Carolina's 2021 Family Physician of the Year by the North Carolina Academy of Family Physicians (NCAFP). The honor is the most prestigious award from the NCAFP, the state's largest specialty medical association, comprised of more than 4,300 members.

Building Trust and Training Physicians in Rural NC Communities

Growing up in a small town in the heart of South Carolina, Anthony Viera, MD, MPH, knew from an early age exactly what he wanted to be when he grew up: a country doctor. Bamberg, South Carolina, has a population just a little over 3,000, and those who aren’t related are at least acquainted.

Alexa Namba, DO, HS'19, on Training at Duke Primary Care Oxford

Alexa Namba, DO, HS'19, is currently a physician at Duke Primary Care Oxford and a medical instructor in the Department of Family Medicine and Community Health. She graduated from the Duke Family Medicine Residency in 2019 and held a continuity clinic at Duke Primary Care Oxford as a second- and third-year resident.

Family Medicine Co-Chief Resident Karen Scherr, M.D., Ph.D., Named National Clinician Scholar

Family Medicine Co-Chief Resident Karen Scherr, M.D., Ph.D., has been named a Duke National Clinician Scholar for the 2021-2023 cohort. She will focus her research on the examination of the use of clinic-community partnerships to empower individuals, families and communities to improve their health and well-being, with a focus on reducing disparities in obesity and obesity-related illness.

Duke Receives HRSA Grant to Support New Rural Track of Family Medicine Residency

The Department of Family Medicine & Community Health was awarded a $750,000 grant from the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) Rural Residency Planning and Development Program to support the creation of a new Rural Track in the Family Medicine Residency. Greg Sawin, M.D., MPH, vice chair for education and faculty development, will serve as the PI for this award over the next three years.